top of page

Nebraska: Lincoln X2

Welcome back to our SoM Podcast blog. This week we are in Amber's home state of Nebraska!!!




Here is the capital building also known as the Penis of the Plains. You can see the sower on top spreading his seed.


Amber's Story:

This week I am sharing the first true crime case that caught my attention. It didn't happen while I was a live it happened when my dad was a kid. It changed Nebraska culture for ever as it shut down the state and people for the first time started to lock their doors. Charles Starkweather went on a killing spree that would ultimately leave 11 people dead and change his and his girlfriend's lives forever. I first heard about this case from a made for tv movie called Murder in the Heartland. It totally glamorized this killing spree and sadly to my 13 year old heart that was already in love with the idea of Bonnie and Clyde I was hooked. It would take years for me to understand the terror that he brought to an entire state and that in my opinion Caril Ann wasn't his Bonnie but a young child that was kidnapped and brought along to witness Charlie's vengeance.




Pro Bono: The 18-Year Defense of Caril Ann Fugate by Jeff McArthur


Celina's story:


This week Celina is telling the story of Randy Reeves. The story was suggested by my dad and I was quick to share with Celina that I thought that this would be a great case for her to research. Now my family doesn't have any personal ties to this case but I did go and protest at the prison when Randy was on death row. Randy Reeves was a native American man in Nebraska. He was found guilty of murdering Janet Mesner and Victoria Lamm. Randy had been drinking all day and was well over double the legal limit and also was high on peyote when he went to his cousins house. He ended up murdering her and her friend. He never denied the murders but his case was looked at when he received the death penalty. Listen as Celina and I discuss our feelings on this case.





Carhenge where I spent a brief 15 minutes of vacation time on my wonderful sweet 16 birthday trip. It was a sight to behold. My dad says that 15 minutes was to much time to spend here.

Comments


bottom of page